October 6, 2011 Hearing Agenda


                                                              Informational Hearing on Regulatory Reform

                        Implementation of Phase II Stormwater Permits:  Implications for  Business, Municipalities, and Taxpayers

Thursday, October 6, 2011

10:00am State Capitol, Room 112

Purpose of Informational Hearing:  Hear from state agencies, local municipalities, and the business community on ongoing regulatory processes that have significant and widespread implications for job creation and economic recovery in the state.  The Committee is particularly interested in learning if, when and how agencies conduct economic analyses and engage stakeholders as part of their regulatory processes.

Opening remarks by Senator Roderick D. Wright (Select Committee Chair)

I)       Presentation by State Water Resources Control Board on new storm water permitting policies – Tom Howard, Executive Director, State Water Resources Control Board

II)    Presentation by CASQA – Geoff Brosseau, Executive Director

III)   Presentation on cost & effects of CalTrans permit to budget and road & other construction projects – Jim Earp – CTC Commissioner & CEO California Alliance for Jobs; Rick Land – Deputy Director CalTrans

IV)   Presentation on cost & effects for municipalities of MS4 (Small Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System) permit – Kelye McKinney City of Roseville; Robert Ketley City of Watsonville

V)    Presentation on cost & effects for business and manufacturing – Dorothy Rothrock  VP Govt Relations CMTA; James Simonelli Exec Director California Metals Coalition

VI)   Presentation on need for regulations for environmental protection – Sara AminzadehActing Executive Director, California Coastkeeper Alliance

Public Comment

  • Business owners - Erik Justesen, CEO of RRM Design Group; Ermina Karim President/CEO
    San Luis Obispo Chamber of Commerce; more speakers TBA
  • School representatives – Ian Padilla, California Coalition for Adequate School Housing
  • Additional reps from various municipalities

Committee Address